Des Moines County is located in southeastern Iowa, its eastern border runs alongside the Mississippi River. The county seat is Burlington, Iowa.


  • Population, as of the 2010 Census: 40,325
  • Area of the county: 416 square miles of land
  • Compared to other Iowa counties: 15th largest based on population

County Government

Communities within Des Moines County

  • Middletown
  • Northfield
  • Pleasant Grove
  • Prairie Grove
  • Roscoe